Delete Unlicensed Resources

Wiki: TOC, VTOC, Home
Forum: Home, General

See also
Logos 7 Commands




This command was introduced in the Logos 6.4 desktop version.

Goal

To free up disk space that is used by resource files where a user formerly had a license but this is no longer the case (e.g. temporary license has run out, resources have been given back to Faithlife). Main use case is when users no longer take part in Logos Cloud or other subscription/rental offerings.

Note: In order to free up disk space while retaining the license to use the resources some time later, use Hiding Books

Definition

This command permanently deletes all files in ...\ResourceManager\Resources\ that can not be opened as valid resources. This will include resources for which you no longer have a valid license.

Source

Operation

  • You input delete unlicensed resources or alternatively delete locked resources into the Command box at the top of the Logos window, making sure the program recognizes it by offering ‘Delete Unlicensed Resources’ as part of the pop-up Tools operations, not only as a Search for those words
  • Logos will in the background perform a discovery of your currently valid licenses and will delete all files from the Resources folder that can’t be opened by Logos – either because there is no valid licence or for any other reason, such as non-Logos files

Notes

  • ‘Permanently delete’ is meant literally, the files will be removed from disk and not be recoverable from the trashcan (use a backup mechanism if you want to be able to undo this)
  • The operation is restricted to the ...\ResourceManager\Resources folder – other folders will not be affected
  • In case of various copies of a valid Logos file, it will retain the latest version and delete the older ones
  • Since unknown files are deleted, it will also delete files that have been renamed / copied for backup purposes
  • Personal Book (PB) source files (such as Word documents) are not valid Logos resources and will be deleted in the unlikely case they were stored in the ...\ResourceManager\Resources folder. Compiled Logos PBs themselves will not be deleted
  • The command will delete resources, but not associated metadata or Logos documents, such as your Notes and Highlights
  • The command will delete resource files, but not the respective index information. In case somebody deletes hundreds of large files in one go (Perseus, Logos Cloud Trial, a returned Base Package) it may be advisable to use the command Rebuild Index to free up this space as well.
  • The deleted files will be listed in the Logos.log if Diagnostic Logging is active.


Logos Bible Software Wiki

Welcome, Guest! (sign in)